Living Eucharist

Santa Croce crucifix

The Psalm for Palm Sunday draws us into an articulation of the agony of Christ – a physical, emotional and psychic agony. It is also a psalm that finds its end in a confession of faith and an assurance of community and communion in God.

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?

All who see me deride me.
They curl their lips, they toss their heads.
‘He trusted in the Lord, let him save him;
let him release him if this is his friend.’

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?

Many dogs have surrounded me,
a band of the wicked beset me.
They tear holes in my hands and my feet
I can count every one of my bones.

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?

They divide my clothing among them.
They cast lots for my robe.
O Lord, do not leave me…

View original post 123 more words

